Savannah's Smallest House

Savannah, Georgia, United States 31401

  1.  Photos
  2.  Map
Before being restored to its original colors, Savannah's smallest house was red with a mustard trim.
The tiny house as it looks today; it was repainted its original colors in 2017.
Side view - this c. 1845 house faces the lovely Greene Square.
Savannah's smallest home is light-filled and welcoming.
The house may be tiny, but there is plenty of room to spread out. Ladder leads to sleeping loft.
Comfortable couch and chairs across from flat screen t.v.
Hardwood floors and original beams - ultimate in historic chic.
Through the kitchen door is a beautiful private patio.
Your very own secret garden - perfect for relaxing.
Sleeping loft with super comfortable queen bed.
Antique touches like this desk and chair add extra charm to the sleeping loft.
Kitchen gets natural light and has a view of the private garden.
Kitchen has toaster, coffee maker, stove, microwave, and washer/dryer.
Looking from the kitchen towards the front room.
Bathroom with ample rain head shower, hairdryer, and plenty of towels.
Savannah's smallest house during its red years.
  • Description

    Featured on the cover and in the book Savannah's Little Crooked Houses. Circa 1845 this historic cottage is on every tour as the smallest free standing house in the historic district. It is located on Greene Square, two blocks from River Street and access directly to President Street which takes you 12 miles to Tybee Island. The cottage was completely redone in 2008 and has a full kitchen with granite counters, refrigerator, convection oven/microwave, stove top and front loading Bosch washer and dryer. All pots, pans, dishes and flatware are provided. The bathroom is marble with a pedestal sink and dual headed shower. There is a loft bedroom upstairs with a closet and built-in storage. There is a fold out leather recliner sofa and the living room can be converted into a bedroom for parties traveling with 3-4 guests. There is a charming private courtyard in the back. Unmetered parking is available in front of the house.
    SVR 000439

    Keywords: Historic cottage with courtyard Savannah's Little Crooked Houses 'Little Red House'
    Savannah's 2012 Tour of Homes

    Details

    • Accommodates:3
    • Bedrooms:1
    • Bathrooms:1

    Amenities

    • Amenity Availability Air Conditioning
    • Amenity Availability Cable TV
    • Amenity Availability Heating
    • Amenity Availability Internet
    • Amenity Availability No Smoking
    • Amenity Availability Pets Allowed
    • Amenity Availability TV
    • Amenity Availability Washer/Dryer
    • Amenity Availability Wireless Internet

    Rates and Availability

    Weeknight Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Min Stay
    Standard Rate
    $110 / night$125 / nightN/AN/AN/A
    Add a Review
    • Great house. Great location.

      Reviewed by Dawn A from New York on November 08, 2014 for their trip during November 01, 2014

      We have always loved this little house and we can't believe we got to stay here! It's super cute. Thanks! Hopefully we will come back next year!

    • Perfect place!

      Reviewed by Anonymous on October 21, 2014 for their trip during October 01, 2014

      The smallest house in Savannah was perfect for my solo adventure in Savannah. It is within walking distance of everything necessary and it was way better than staying in a hotel!

    • Highly recommend this charming house

      Reviewed by Anonymous on October 06, 2014 for their trip during October 01, 2014

      My husband and I stayed in the little red house this past weekend for a friend's wedding. We loved how close it was to River Street and that it was right on the square. The house is extremely charming and we especially loved the secluded back porch area. The only complaint we have is the very wobbly concrete stair to get in the front door. The full size bed was a Tempurpedic so even though it was small, there was little movement when one of us rolled over or got out of bed. If you are bringing pets, it can take a trip or two up and down the very steep steps to the bedroom to get used to carrying the dog while doing so. It wasn't troublesome. If you stay here, expect a tour bus to drive by the joys multiple times s day with passengers taking photos as it happens to be a tourist attraction being the smallest house in Savannah. We definitely plan on staying here again as the value is incredible- cheaper than the nicer hotels and pet friendly.

    • Yet another wonderful weekend!

      Reviewed by Jennifer H. on September 24, 2014 for their trip during September 01, 2014

      My husband and I spend a weekend in Savannah last year at this little house and enjoyed it so much we spent another wonderful weekend in the little house. Quiet, Quaint and cozy weekend perfect for any couple. Has everything you need to enjoy the weekend. Comfortable bed, fireplace, full kitchen - just enough for two! Once Again.... we give this little red charming home an excellent rating. Much better than staying in a hotel or other B & B because you don't hear the people in the next room!!! You don't get woke up by people moving in and out of hallways, etc. Just you two in your own home. The house has over 100 years of character and you can't help but think.. oh, what these walls have seen. Greene square is your view once you step out front.. just start walking and you see historic Savannah in all it's beauty. I think anyone would enjoy spending a weekend away in such a wonderful little place and we'd do it again.

    • Wonderful little house

      Reviewed by Denise from Atlanta, Ga on August 12, 2014 for their trip during July 01, 2014

      Wonderful little house to rent. Much more fun than getting a plain ole hotel room! Had a very nice visit in Savannah.

    • Fantastic experience!

      Reviewed by Anonymous on April 26, 2014 for their trip during April 01, 2014

      We've been to Savannah before and have always wondered about this cottage! We've seen it on tours and always admired it. It's not far from River Street. The house is charming. It's very small but has been planned and decorated well and has such great outdoor space. We spent most days out exploring the city but laid around and napped one rainy afternoon. Everything is well equipped. It's perfect for a couple. Romantic, convenient and very comfortable.

    • Nice & Quaint for two

      Reviewed by Jennifer H. on December 19, 2013 for their trip during December 01, 2013

      Such a cute little historic home. Perfect for our weekend getaway. B & B's are nice but you always have someone in the other rooms or in the house with you - this was perfect because we were in the historic area, able to bring our bikes and bike around, park in front of the house all weekend and return back to a nice quiet little home. Has everything we needed for the weekend - even Washer and Dryer - thank goodness because it rained and during one of our bike rides we got soaked!! good thing we had the dryer to dry our clothes in! Fire place was perfect for a nice relaxing evening.

      Owner Response: I am so glad you enjoyed you stay! Just for future reference to other guests- the fireplace is non-working. I may have gas logs installed now that there is gas central heat. The a/c and heat unit is brand new. Please check before coming in the colder months to make sure that the fireplace is usable.

    • Loved our stay at the little house

      Reviewed by Larry D from Lichfield, CT 06759 on November 29, 2013 for their trip during October 01, 2013

      We had a great time at the little house, right on the square and a perfect spot for seeing the entire city. Space here is just right, we were able to park on street in front of the door all weekend for free too. Stairway to bedroom could be a little challenging but we were OK. Living Room furniture could offer more comfort as other have mentioned--but none of this owuld keep us from going back again. Cold temps arrived with us ahead of usual season, owner told us where to find heaters and it worked out well. Thanks for a great stay, hope to go back in the Spring and enjoy the courtyard!

      Owner Response: I installed central gas heat in October of 2013. There was always central AC. It has worked out well and I've had a great response from it. 19 out of 20 times guests find everything to be very comfortable. It is a tiny house!

    • Fantastic location

      Reviewed by dawn from New York City on November 14, 2013 for their trip during November 01, 2013

      We loved the location! We felt like we were staying in a doll house: loved it! We wish the bed upstairs was at least a queen size. The full was just too small and we are both very petite girls. The futon downstairs needs to be upgraded. It's been sat on too many times that the cushion has various indents in it making it uncomfortable to sleep on. Otherwise, a great stay with everything you need for a weekend away.

      Owner Response: The couch is brand new and the bed is too!

    • Adorable cottage

      Reviewed by Jennifer A. on September 20, 2013 for their trip during September 01, 2013

      Great location! Cute place. Perfect for a couple. Really good a/c ( it was aboutv97 degrees when we visited!). One downfall; the fridge is a large dorm size with no freezer. Also the cook top is two burners with no oven. We still enjoyed our stay but would have liked to know this before hand. Within walking distance of the river

      Owner Response: The pictures and listing clearly state that there is an under the counter refrigerator that has a small freezer. Also that there is a convection oven over the stove top. This is the smallest house in Savannah and most people visit for a few days. It is not the place you would expect to come and cook a full size turkey- although it is possible. It's small and has quite the luxury kitchen for it's size, age, price and location!

    • Adorable piece of history

      Reviewed by loveNC from Huntersville, NC on July 25, 2013 for their trip during July 01, 2013

      My fiancé and I stayed at this adorable little red house while in Savannah planning our wedding. We have been to Savannah several times this year, and usually stay in hotels, but the hotel rooms in the historic district are pretty expensive, and we wanted to try something new. We brought our two large dogs with us this time. The house was perfect for the four of us. Clean, updated, just enough space, and very accurately portrayed in the pictures. We are small-ish people (under 6'), so the size of the place wasn't an issue for us but I wouldn't recommend it for anyone over 6'. The ceilings are pretty low in the living area. Also, the bed was not the most comfortable. It was soft, but I could feel the springs and we woke up sore most mornings. We couldn't figure out the TV either. I think you had to pay to watch movies and there wasn't any cable (which was fine). Other than the bed, the place was perfect. The air worked well, the kitchen was stocked, and the bathroom was clean. We would probably stay here again in the future. For the price, it is a great deal.

      Owner Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay! Everyone refers to the bed as "The Cloud". I have not had any complaints about the bed but should anyone complain again I will certainly have it replaced.

    • Excellent location & fun little house!

      Reviewed by Shell from United States on July 10, 2013 for their trip during July 01, 2013

      We had a great vacation with our home base at the crooked little house. We were able to walk to the fireworks and spent a lot of time walking around beautiful Savannah. We also drove the short (1/2 hour) drive to Tybee Island for swimming, seafood and a night time beach walk. Greene Square was a great spot to sit out with a glass of wine in the evening or coffee in the morning and meet the community. The house had everything we needed and we loved waving at the tour buses as they drove by.

      Owner Response: Can't wait to have you back! It's a great little house in a perfect location for people who want to be in the middle of everything and aren't afraid of a little history.

    • A great place to stay

      Reviewed by beth n. from Owensboro, Ky on July 06, 2013 for their trip during June 01, 2013

      My husband and I enjoyed the four nights we spent in Savannah. We had easy access via car to Tybee Island and grocery stores outside of the Historic District. The home is also walkable to most of the Historic District. We really liked getting to stay in such a quaint get-a-way. Just be careful in the loft -- the ceilings are kind of low -- but that's the nature of staying in such an old home. It was also neat to see the tour buses drive by the house. We went on a tour, and the rental was mentioned on it. I would stay at this home again if we did visit Savannah again. I do think the home is best for one couple, though it can easily sleep four with the futon.

      Owner Response: I completely agree! I also think it is best for one couple- although there are always bargain hunters or those with a teenager! I try to be flexible but, for the most part, do not recommend this house for two couples or three to four singles.

    • Nice and comfortable stay.

      Reviewed by Claudia P. from Atlanta on June 12, 2013 for their trip during June 01, 2013

      This is a really cute house with all the ammenitites that we need for a short or long stay. I am definitely coming back!

      Owner Response: Thank you so much! I love that you enjoyed your stay and I'm so glad your daughter will be coming back to honeymoon!

    • Great stay....

      Reviewed by lovetotravel from Oklahoma on May 28, 2013 for their trip during May 01, 2013

      Great place and adorable! You are on the tour route, as this is the truly the smallest house in Savannah. The back patio is absolutely beautiful and the stay delightful. My husband and I stayed with his sister and we had plenty of space and being close to everything was delightful. We literally walked everywhere! A larger T.V would have been nice for the evenings to unwind. Just a note on the shower, as it does not have a door and can be a bit intimidating, but we used a towel on the floor to absorb the extra water that fell out. We also traveled with our small Maltese who loved standing in the open door and greeting the tour trollies as they passed :) We would stay here again!

    • Awesome Place to Stay in Savannah

      Reviewed by The Browns5 from Dunwoody, Georgia on April 30, 2013 for their trip during April 01, 2013

      We stayed at the little house for three nights. It is so quaint and in such a great location for walking around the beautiful city of Savannah. We found the back patio to be very enjoyable in the mornings and late afternoons on these sunny days. Once you get to Savannah and see all of the historic homes around you, it is absolutely fantastic to get to stay in one of them. We absolutely were delighted with the house. Plenty comfortable and so much better (and less expensive) than a hotel room. We highly recommend it.

      Owner Response: Thank you, Debbie. It's so nice to hear that you enjoyed your trip and I hope to have you back again!

    • Enchanting Vacation Cottage

      Reviewed by Frances from Nashville on March 19, 2013 for their trip during March 01, 2013

      Our goal was to visit Savannah and experience it by staying in a house instead of getting a hotel room, plus stay in the HIstoric District so we could walk. We landed at this one by some stroke of luck. The pictures do not do it justice. It was everything we wanted. It had charm, was historic, was sparkling clean and was located one block from Broughton Street on which we found tons of shops and restaurants. We found a Mexican place nearby, Juarez, that was really casual and had good food and margaritas. We also loved Leopold's ice cream which is very close to the cottage. We never moved our car. Everything in the house was updated beautifully. We will stay here again because I highly doubt we could recreate this experience without spending twice as much somewhere else! I felt like I had known the owner forever after talking to her on the phone about our reservation. She is so nice!

    • Adorable Cottage and Great Location

      Reviewed by Upstate Travelers from Upstate South Carolina on January 04, 2013 for their trip during July 01, 2012

      My husband and I (along with our two small dogs) throroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is wonderful and the house is adorable. Liberty was a pleasure to deal with throughout the process. The photographs are very accurate. I definitely recommend this lovely home.

    • Just perfect!

      Reviewed by Heidi from Tucson, AZ on May 29, 2012 for their trip during May 01, 2012

      My fiance and I recently stayed in this adorable little red house for a friend's wedding weekend. It was the perfect place to enjoy a fun and relaxed Savannah weekend. We were able to walk everywhere, and really enjoyed coming back to quiet Greene square to relax. The house was cozy, the kitchen was great, and the bed was super comfortable -- we slept like babies! We also enjoyed waving to the trolleys as they came by on historic tours. Liberty was also extremely communicative and helpful -- thank you!

      Owner Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed it and thank you so much for thinking of me and taking the time to write a nice review when you got home!

    • Charming and peaceful

      Reviewed by Debbie from Woodstock, GA on May 09, 2012 for their trip during April 01, 2012

      Great long weekend getaway. The house is in the historic district but far enough from the center with all the bars and traffic. Only a few blocks from River Street on a quiet residential street. Parking is free after 5 on fridays and all weekend. Playing musical cars is fun though on street sweeping days. Watch those signs unless you want a ticket! The house is very clean and has absolutely everything you would need for your stay including a full kitchen and washer and dryer. Liberty was a pleasure to work with, she answered questions and emails promptly. Will definately be back. P.S. The older gentleman that lives next door in the Old Sea Captains house is a delight!

    • Awesome place for downtown savannah

      Reviewed by j from knoxville tn on November 01, 2011 for their trip during November 01, 2011

      Thank you liberty for awesome stay in savannah! Great place for a coulple. Tidy and clean. Lunch at cotton exchange was great. Mcdonoughs close by to grab a beer and watch the game. Take the free ferry across river then have a rooftop cocktail. Shopping and walking along riverstreet is much fun. Ghost walking tour was fun also.carriage ride had more history but loved both.thanks again liberty!!!

    • Charming, Cozy, PERFECT location and gracious hostess!

      Reviewed by Katie from Savannah, GA on September 11, 2011 for their trip during August 01, 2011

      We cannot possibly leave a review that accurately describes how wonderful the Tiny Red House is. It has a lovely kitchen, a great bathroom, a comfy living room and a nice, romantic bedroom. The courtyard is quiet and green, and the front yard is steps from a beautiful square. We loved everything about our stay, and the owner was incredibly helpful and responsive. This little house is perfectly located near everthing you could want to do in Savannah. It is a must see.

    • Our best trip to Savannah! Our canine kids say "Thanks Liberty!"

      Reviewed by Jennifer T. from Mt Dora FL on August 03, 2011 for their trip during July 01, 2011

      We spent three lovely nights in the "smallest" house in Savannah which proved to be our best trip yet! The house is adorable and the fenced in courtyard is the perfect place to relax while your dogs sniff around. The location is just two blocks from River Street and all the other atttactions. We parked our car when we arrived and didnt need it until we left. The house had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and the neighbors were so hospitable! We also found Savannah to be very pet friendly - our boys loved their morning and evening walks. We will definately rent this quaint little house when we return to Savannah!

    • We were so lucky

      Reviewed by Karin from Aruba on July 11, 2011 for their trip during April 01, 2011

      We were in Savannah in April 2011. We've travelled all over the U.S.A. and stayed in several places and I must say that this Little Red House was one of the nicest places we've stayed in. Not only was the house clean, well maintained, spacious and equipped with all the amenities needed, but even the location was just perfect. I couldn't believe our luck when I came accross this rental and when we arrived it was even better than I had imagined it would be. Liberty made the entire experience pleasant, from the moment I contacted her she was very friendly and helpful.Dear Liberty we had the time of our lives, you gave us the oportunity to stay in a historical house in Savannah...............It doesn't get any better than that. When we go back to Savannah there is no place we'd rather stay and we'll definitely tell our friends about you.

    • SO CHARMING!!

      Reviewed by Suzanne G. from Where do you live? on July 02, 2011 for their trip during April 01, 2011

      We stayed last April and had an amazing visit. We had been to Savannah NUMEROUS times before this stay, but this was the first time we rented (we'd stayed at the Green Palm Inn right across the street and fell in love with the property). We found that the house had wonderful updates and was bigger inside than it appeared outside. Loved that it was fenced in, our toddler and dog could play safely. its a great base for exploring the city. Had fun with the tour buses driving by to talk about the house too, it was NOT intrusive, just occasional, and gave us some fun memories. We had issues with the inflatable mattress, but Liberty worked hard to rectify it, and my husband left a chain w/pendants, that she promptly had returned by mail. I can NOT say enough good things about the property OR the owner. If anyone has questions about the property or Savannah itself, please feel free to email me.

    • Very Enjoyable

      Reviewed by D. P. and Sandra D. from Northwest, Georgia on March 27, 2011 for their trip during March 01, 2011

      My husband and I visited Savannah for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was our first time to Savannah, so we were not real sure where to stay or what to do. We chose "the little red house" because of its historic background and charming look in the "vrbo" pictures. We were not disappointed at all!! We loved staying in our own little private home for a few days. The home was well equiped and suitable for any length of stay. We enjoyed our entire stay and all the sights and places to eat we hoped to do while we visited the area. Look forward to coming back again.

    • Perfect location and very accomodating owner. Highly recommended!

      Reviewed by Tim from Norman, OK USA on March 24, 2011 for their trip during March 01, 2011

      This little house on Greene Square is perfect for a couple traveling who want something other than a run of the mill hotel experience. The location is fantastic and is a short walking distance to the best restaurants and shopping in the historic district. The on street parking was always available, even during St. Pat's. Liberty went out of her way to make sure our experience was a good one. The house was very clean and we loved having a washer and dryer at our disposal. I would highly recommend this property to anyone.

    • Awesome little house.

      Reviewed by Lis from York, PA on February 02, 2011 for their trip during October 01, 2010

      My girlfriend and I decided to do a girl's getaway and stayed at this quaint little house October 4th-6th 2010 . It is conveniently located and within walking distance to all attractions. The house is very small, comfortable for 2 people but most delightful. Liberty was very gracious and nice to deal with. I would recommend staying here and would be happy to come back again. FYI - We had no bug issues.

    • Charm and Grace

      Reviewed by Ro from Bangor, ME on January 09, 2011 for their trip during December 01, 2010

      We recently had the pleasure of staying in the delightful cottage ... the perfect blend of traditional architecture and well-executed modern facilities ... marble kitchen and bath. The courtyard is a charming respite from city life. The property which is situated on Greene Square is within easy walking distance of the restaurants, shops, and other squares in the historic district. The unit was well-kept, very clean, comfortable and welcoming. Would definitely stay here again!

    • Sparkling clean, conveniently located!

      Reviewed by Lee from Richmond, VA on January 09, 2011 for their trip during December 01, 2010

      Loved the restaurants and shops I could walk to when I stayed at this darling little house recently. Excellent location, on a square in the historic district. The house is nicely appointed, has hardwood floors, comfortable furniture and a beautiful kitchen, laundry and bath. It is well-kept, clean and inviting. The patio is private, secluded. I look forward to returning to Savannah many times and hope this little jewel will be available when I visit. lg

    • Darling Little Vacation Home

      Reviewed by Val from Clarksburg, WV on January 09, 2011 for their trip during August 01, 2010

      I stayed in this sweet little house and was able to walk to the sights, entertainment, and dining. This listing is accurately described and looks just like the pictures that are posted. The unit was clean (I read another review and can state unequivocably that there are NO bugs), comfortable, and cozy. My stay was during one of the hottest times in the city this past summer and the house was very cool. I would choose to stay there again. Liberty was very nice to work with from start to finish. This is a great value for the price.

    • Great place to stay with very convenient location

      Reviewed by sarabee from Louisville, KY on January 05, 2011 for their trip during December 01, 2010

      My fiance and I stayed in this small house over the Christmas holiday and loved it. Very clean and tidy with updated kitchen and bathroom. It was a perfect size for two people, but may be a little cramped for any more than three. It is located just a couple blocks from the shops and restaurants on Broughton, Bay and River streets, which made for a nice stroll through lovely squares and along charming architecture. We also had no trouble finding close parking if we did take the car somewhere. And, had the weather been warmer, we would have enjoyed sitting out on the private back patio! We would definitely stay here again and recommend this place to others.